Your Digital Safety - when you call, text, email or webchat with us 

It’s important to us that you are safe while accessing support through Safe to talk. Here are some tips to help you stay safe, whichever way you’re accessing our service: 

 

Phone Safety

Make sure your phone is password-protected, and that only you know the password. Don’t use a password that could be easily guessed (e.g. your birthday) and change your password regularly.

Please note that unless you say you don’t want to take part you’ll get an invitation via text to do an online survey to give feedback about the Safe to talk service. This text could be sent several days or weeks after your phone or text conversation. If you’re concerned that others can access your phone and see messages, it may be best to opt out of the survey. To do this, just tell the counsellor when you call or text that you don’t want to be sent the survey.   

 

Phone calls

If you are concerned that others could hear your phone conversation, try to find a time and place to call where you are more likely to be able to have a private conversation 

If you are worried that someone can access your phone, it might be a good idea to delete your call history. Click here for how to do this for iPhone, and here for Android. 

Please note that unless you say you don’t want to take part you’ll get an invitation via text to do an online survey to give feedback about the Safe to talk service. This text could be sent several days or weeks after your phone or text conversation. If you’re concerned that others can access your phone and see messages, it may be best to opt out of the survey. To do this, just tell the counsellor when you call or text that you don’t want to be sent the survey.     

 

Texting

If you are worried that someone could access your phone, it’s a good idea to delete the conversation with the Safe to talk counsellor once the conversation is finished. Click here for how to do this for iPhone, and here for Android. 

 

Using the website / webchat / email

Covering your tracks – if you are worried about someone finding out that you have visited safetotalk.nz you can visit the site using your browser’s incognito mode. Click on this link to find out how.

It’s also a good idea to delete your search history too.

If you are worried that someone could access your private computer or other device, it might be better for you to use another computer at a friend’s place, library, school, or work if you can.

If you want to change the default web address for the ‘Quick Exit’ button, please enter your preferred URL (website address) in the 'Cover your tracks' box at the bottom of the page.

If you’re using a computer, make sure access to it is controlled with a strong password that only you know. Here are some tips:

  • Either use a combination of letters and symbols at least 8 characters long, or a passphrase, which is a combination of easily remembered words that is at least 15 characters long
  • Use a unique phrase instead of just a word
  • Use a different password for each account you have
  • Avoid using personal information that could be easily guessed
  • Change your passwords regularly

 

For more information go to netsafe.org.nz/passwords

For email, if you are worried that someone could access your email account, it’s a good idea to delete the email conversation with the Safe to talk counsellor once the conversation is finished.